The School Board...

...... heard outgoing Board president, Doug Weaver, recite the Elkhart Promise.

-heard from Superintendent's Student Advisory Council (SSAC) representative Abigail Presswood, a freshman from Memorial High School (MHS). In addition to SSAC, Ms. Presswood is involved in student government and plays on the volleyball team. The following report was given: The following eight choir students will be performing with the All State Choir at the Indiana Music Education Association's convention in Fort Wayne this weekend: Xavier Barham, Heather Hilliard, Collin Hurley, A'Daiziana Johnson, Tyler Rouch, Patsi Ward, Stefanie Warren, and Lacy Witmer. Winter sports are underway and Memorial will host the Wrestling Sectional on February 1st. Winter Guard has a competition performance at Goshen on January 25th. A Give Back Night fundraiser is at Elkhart Noodles and Company on Thursday. On Monday, January 20th, Sigma Beta Upsilon is participating in the annual events at the Civic Plaza in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
- accepted with appreciation the following donations made to Elkhart Community Schools (ECS): \$500 from Dicor Corporation for the ElkLogics Robotics club; \$2,500 from Patrick Industries to the MHS Class of 2021 to help with cost of Prom 2020; \$2,000 from Terry Trimmer Memorial to purchase wireless headsets for the theatre and music department; \$519.14 in cash, \$100 in a VISA gift card, and \$300 in martin's gift cards to the Angel Tree at Osolo; an anonymous \$3,000 donation to pay negative food balances; \$100,000 from the Irions Foundation for the Engineering Technology and Innovation building fund.
- approved proposed school fundraisers in accordance with Board policy. The funds raised through the listed activities are deposited into each school's extra-curricular fund. In response to an audience inquiry, Kevin Scott, chief financial officer, noted procedural information has been shared with principals and staff.
- approved proposed revisions and waived second reading of Board Policy 3422.07S Executive Assistant's Compensation Plan. Doug Thorne, chief of staff/counsel, noted the revisions were clarifications to the previously approved policy.
- approved proposed revisions and waived second reading of the following Compensation Plans:

3422.06S - Secretarial/Business Compensation Plan

3422.08S – Paraprofessionals' Compensation Plan

3422.09S - Technical Assistants' Compensation Plan

- Mr. Thorne noted these revisions are also clarifications to recently approved policy changes.
- was presented the 2020-2021 School calendar for initial consideration. Wes Molyneaux, director of technology integration, reported the calendar committee had met four times and the proposed calendar has been reviewed by various staff and administrators. The calendar will be presented at the January 28th regular Board meeting for approval.

- was presented four (4) new ENL support course offerings: ENL Math Lab 7 and 8 (0432), and ENL Language Lab 7 and 8 (0428) for middle schools; ENL Math Lab (0500) and ENL Language Lab (1010) at Elkhart High School; and Education Professions I (5408) and II (5404), and Networking I (5243) at EACC. Audience comments were received regarding Ed Professions I and II being offered at the EACC and the place of these courses within the future schools of study.
- accepted seven (7) Spring Teaching Grants from the Elkhart Education Foundation (EEF) for programs at Riverview, Roosevelt, Assistive Technology Department, Memorial, Westside, Osolo and Beck. Ashley Molyneaux, executive director of EEF, announced the awards totaling \$9,929. Mrs. Molyneaux also reported 625 teachers have utilized the School House Supply Store; the program recently received a \$15,000 supply grant from Notre Dame; and the continued support of local business partners. Board member, Susan Daiber, thanked her for EEF's undertaking of this project.
-approved the submission of a Focus on Inclusion Application grant to the AWS Foundation from Daly in the amount of \$2,850.
- confirmed employment of the following four (4) certified staff members: Aaron Elias, language arts at Pierre Moran; Dustin Fairchild, computer technology at West Side; Rebecca Herington, grade 6 at Woodland; and Steven Robinson, special education intern at Hawthorne.
- confirmed the retirement of the following two (2) certified staff members: Elaine Jarvis, special education at PACE; and Robin Sutton special education at Woodland.
- approved maternity leave for certified staff member Kristina O'Donnell, language arts at West Side.
- approved a leave for certified staff member, Elizabeth Keiling, grade 4 at Beck.
- confirmed the employment of the following twelve (12) classified employees: Leann Buss, food service at Memorial; Debra Cook, food service at Pierre Moran; Ashley Fehlberg, social worker at Eastwood; Clacy Heston, paraprofessional at West Side; Demia Johnson, food service at West Side; Sharron Lewis, bus helper at Transportation; Jeanette Martin, food service at Riverview; Eduardo Morales Cardenas, bus driver at Transportation; Sarah Nelson, secretary at ESC; Derria Pratcher, paraprofessional at Memorial; Gayle Sotelo-Martin, bus helper at Transportation; and Tynetta Warren, food service at Beardsley/Cleveland.
- confirmed the resignation of the following thirteen (13) classified employees: Christine Banta, bus helper at Transportation; Kayla Brookshire, paraprofessional at Memorial; Debra Cook, food service at Pierre Moran; Megan Haas, secretary at Daly; Beverly Harris, paraprofessional at Cleveland; Donna Johnson, paraprofessional at Riverview; Matthew Manley, paraprofessional at Memorial; Melisa Machowiak, paraprofessional at Eastwood; LeAnn Mehl, food service at Daly; Cathaleen Phillipson, food service at North Side; Vanessa Scott, secretary at WVPE; Jena Swain, technical assistant at Pierre Moran; and Zachary Wilfert, deployment administrator at Tech Services.

- approved leave for the following five (5) classified employees: Sarah Drabyn, therapist at Cleveland; Yvonne Gefri, food service at North Side; Lavinia Jones-Goodman, secretary at Cleveland; Kayla Magyar, bus driver at Transportation; and Elsa Verde Zamudio, paraprofessional at EACC.
- heard from an audience staff member suggesting a change to the mascot.
- heard from an audience staff member thanking the Board for reviewing early graduation procedures.
- heard Superintendent Thalheimer thank Wes Molyneaux and the calendar committee for their work on the 2020-2021 calendar; the merger committee who worked on the teacher request process for Elkhart High School; and Brad Sheppard and Tony England on the equity issues and drafting the plan to be presented to the Board soon.
- heard outgoing Board president, Doug Weaver, thank Board members and staff for their work, and invited everyone to attend the Ribbon Cutting at the Diesel Technology building on Thursday, January 23 at 9:30 a.m.